Maci’s Birth Story

Today is  my first blog post and I couldn’t think of a better way to start off than with something close to my heart. This post is dedicated to my sweet little niece Maci, my sister Rachael, and Jason.

Just a couple weeks ago my sister was pregnant with her second little girl and due at the end of March. Around the middle of her pregnancy we had planned to do a birthing story. I had never photographed one before but I knew that it was something I wanted to be a part of more than just once. I knew that in order to explain to clients what a birthing story was I needed to be able to show them.

Thursday afternoon Rachael went to her doctors  for her last check up and to schedule her induction for Sunday the 17th.  She called me after her appointment and told me she that didn’t think she was going to make it till Sunday but they went ahead and planned to be induced that morning. Anyone who has been pregnant knows that feeling and knows that the last couple of weeks are the longest. I told her “Okay, if you don’t make it till Sunday try to have her tomorrow ( Friday) but not on Saturday because I have a 7 hour wedding.” I was half joking but mostly being serious!

I had a feeling she wouldn’t make it till Sunday either but with my busy schedule that weekend (A rehearsal dinner, an engagement session and a wedding)  I just knew that I would miss everything! This was her third pregnancy so I knew once her water broke she would go FAST! I tried to stay positive though and I prayed that night I wouldn’t miss anything.

Well, sure enough Friday morning at 4:30 I woke up to my phone ringing along with two missed calls, two text messages, and a voice-mail. Her and Jason had been trying to get a hold of me for the past HOUR! Her water broke at 3:30 and they were already at the hospital getting checked in. My mind was all over the place. I knew my husband had to leave  the house at 7:15 to be at work by 7:30 and the kids had to be at school by 8:30. How in the world was I going to get to the hospital, photograph the birth, and then get home to take my kids to school all in a matter of less than 4 hours! As confused about it as I was I headed out the door anyways. Luckily all my equipment was packed up and I was ready to go.

My house is about 15 minutes away from the hospital, but with no traffic at almost 5:00 in the morning I made it there in about 10. As soon as I got there she was already receiving her epidural so I wasn’t allowed in the room. 5:45 rolled around and I had yet to photograph anything. I was a nervous wreck. I knew my husband would be leaving the house in an hour for work and I needed someone to be at home with my kids. I decided to text several of my girlfriends asking them if there was any way possible they could sit at my house with my kids until I got home. I knew my sister would deliver within the next couple hours so I just needed someone to cover that gap for me. Nobody was available. I had one last hope and that was my mother in law. I waited for about 15 minutes before deciding to call her and wake her up to ask her for one HUGE favor. THANKFULLY she was a trooper and woke up to drive across town to stay with my kids until I got home. I knew getting them up, fed, dressed, and off to school was WAY too much to ask so I let them play hookey.

I was finally able to go in the room a little after 6:00 and Maci was born at 7:55 AM weighing almost 8lbs!

I now have something to share with others when they ask “What exactly is a birth story” and I am excited to share it with all of you first! ENJOY ❤

You can also check out Maci’s birth story video

 here : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YkJ9rPm4umY

2013-04-03_0003

2013-04-03_00042013-04-03_0005

2013-04-03_0006

2013-04-03_0007

2013-04-03_0008

Thank you Rachael and Jason for allowing me to be a part of something so special. I believe birth photography is just as important as wedding photography. Everything goes by so fast and there is so much emotion that needs to be captured. To be able to be a part of my nieces birth and capture everything from that day is such an honor to me. I am so thankful for my sister, Jason, and my mother in law for making it all possible for me to be a part of this. I love you all!!
-Heather Nichole

3 thoughts on “Maci’s Birth Story

Leave a comment